Chieftains, Chiefs, and High Chieftains

<u>History</u>

Did the Freehold have these ranks in the beginning? NO. So how did they come into existence and why?

Realize that the Freehold was a growing hold that was constantly being redefined and organized. There were many things happening that needed not just the leader but Deputies.

In 1974 the Freehold came into existence numbering 7-12 (14% of the Principality). Erekose was the Lord with several peoples his deputies. Their duties were to instruct new members. Set up workshops, meetings, and projects. Help run the Hold.

In 1976 The Freehold numbered 22-75 (22% of Principality). Erekose changed his title to Chieftain so that he had a more Clan type title with his deputies becoming Lieutenants. They had the same duties but kept track of traditions also.

In Feb 78 The Freehold numbered 150-160 (25% of Kingdom). Erekose took the title of Chief. Declared that there would be a full clan structure from now on.

May 1978 Timotheus and Atar were made Chieftains. They swore Fealty (such as it was) and were now 2nd in command.

June 78 Thorson was made Chieftain.

August 78 Kerrissa was made Chieftain.

The Duties of the Chieftains were now different. They included;

Assist and advise the Chief

Train members

Teach Freeholders on the traditions of the Freehold

Organize and conduct workshops

If needed act as legate of the Chief

Advise the Chief of possible new Chieftains.

In 1980 the Freehold numbered 175-200 (18% of Kingdom) In October Erekose decided that the structure must change again. He became the High Chieftain, the Chieftains became Chiefs, and the Lords of each Hold became Chieftains.

In June 1983 Alfred was made a Chief.

In November 1996 Edward was made a Chief.

In July 1998 Cristi was made a Chief.

In February 2003 Leslie Robert was made a Chief.

In February 2005 it was decided that all Former High Chieftains would step down to the title of Honorable Chief and were part of the Conclave of Chiefs.

Braggi made Erekose an Honorable Chief.

Lynnette was made a Chief.

Braggi and Dielle were made Honorable Chiefs.

In October 2009 Morgan was made a Chief.

Siiobhan was made a Chief.

Ulf was made a Chief.

In February 2010 Elric was made a Chief.

Thomas was made a Chief.

In November 2010- The Conclave of Chiefs Denied membership and titles to Braggi.

Status of Freehold Chiefs:

Erekose	Inactive
Timotheus	Active
<u>Atar</u>	Active
Thorson	Inactive
Kerrissa	Active
Alfred	Inactive
Eadweard	Deceased
Cailin	Inactive
Robert	Active
Lynnette	Active
Braggi	Inactive
Rois (Dielle)	Inactive
Morgan	Active
Siiobhan	Active
Ulf	Active
Elric	Active
Tomas	Active